2013-14 Departmental Performance Report - Canada Border Services Agency

ARCHIVED - Status Report on Transformational and Major Crown Projects - eManifest

Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Description:

eManifest is modernizing and improving cross-border commercial processes. When fully implemented, eManifest will require all carriers, freight forwarders and importers to send advance commercial information about their shipments electronically to the Canada Border Services Agency (CBSA). The collection and risk assessment of pre-arrival data will improve the CBSA's ability to detect high-risk shipments before they arrive at the border. At the same time, low-risk, legitimate trade will be able to cross the border more efficiently. eManifest makes Canada's border processes more secure and compatible with North American and international standards, which is important for the business community and for Canada as a whole.

Project Phase:

Execution

Sponsoring and Participating Departments and Agencies

  • Sponsoring Department
    • Canada Border Services Agency
  • Contracting Authority
    • Canada Revenue Agency
    • Public Works and Government Services Canada
    • Shared Services Canada
  • Participating Department(s)
    • N/A

Prime and Major Subcontractor(s)

  • Prime Contractor
    • N/A
  • Major Subcontractor(s)
    • N/A

Major Milestones

  • Major Milestone
    • To improve knowledge and capacity to risk assess, implemented pre-arrival reporting of House Bills and Close Messages.
    • To improve communication with Trade Chain Partners, implemented Manifest Forward notices to TCP's.
    • To increase compliance by Trade community, implemented Electronic conveyance arrivals in air and marine mode.
  • Date
    • Implemented June 2013

Project Outcomes:

eManifest has the following immediate outcomes:

  • Enhance the CBSA's capacity to provide a pre-arrival risk determination prior to the arrival of goods in Canada;
  • Improve the efficiency of administering pre-arrival determinations by using an improved risk assessment capability;
  • Provide the CBSA with the ability to conduct more effective enforcement activities;
  • Enable the CBSA to provide faster, more efficient frontline processing for commercial trade; and
  • Enable the CBSA, Participating Government Agencies and Trade Chain Partners (TCPs) to evolve toward an automated eCommerce importation process, which is in line with international standards.

Progress Report and Explanations of Variances:

  • System functionality for the transmission of cargo and conveyance data from highway and rail carriers is in place.  An informed compliance period is in effect.  The CBSA will communicate when regulations to enforce eManifest requirements for highway and rail carriers are expected to be in place, once confirmed, at least 45 days in advance of the mandatory compliance date.  The CBSA continues to assist clients in becoming eManifest-compliant through communications, outreach, compliance monitoring and other support activities. 
  • In June 2013, the CBSA deployed electronic systems that allow freight forwarders in all modes of transportation to transmit advance house bill data to the CBSA.  The CBSA continues to work with freight forwarders during the voluntary period to ensure they are eManifest ready once regulations to enforce the requirements become mandatory.

Industrial Benefits:

  • As eManifest will help provide CBSA officers with the right information at the right time, Canadian industry will benefit from more predictability at the border and from streamlined release processes. This will enable both industry and the CBSA to manage commercial import volumes more effectively. In addition, eManifest functionality will enable the efficient movement of goods through secure cross-border processes. With improved controls along the supply chain continuum, the CBSA can more efficiently allocate resources to ensure that integrated border services further national security and safety priorities, while continuing to facilitate the flow of low-risk people and goods.
Date modified:

Rapport ministériel sur le rendement de 2013-2014 - Agence des services frontaliers du Canada

ARCHIVÉ - Rapport d'étape sur les grands projets transformationnels et les grands projets de l'État – Manifeste électronique

Contenu archivé

L'information dont il est indiqué qu'elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n'est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n'a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Description :

Le Manifeste électronique modernise et améliore les processus commerciaux transfrontaliers. Lorsqu'il sera entièrement mis en œuvre, le Manifeste électronique exigera de tous les transporteurs, des transitaires et des importateurs qu'ils transmettent par voie électronique à l'Agence des services frontaliers du Canada (ASFC) des données commerciales préalables sur leurs expéditions. La collecte des données transmises avant l'arrivée et l'évaluation des risques connexes améliorera la capacité de l'ASFC à  détecter les expéditions à risque élevé avant leur arrivée à la frontière. Parallèlement, les expéditions légitimes à faible risque seront en mesure de traverser la frontière plus efficacement. Le Manifeste électronique permet aux processus frontaliers du Canada d'être plus sécuritaires et compatibles avec les normes nord-américaines et internationales, ce qui est important pour le milieu des affaires et le Canada dans son ensemble.

Phase du projet :

Exécution

Ministères et organismes parrains et participants

  • Ministère parrain
    • Agence des services frontaliers du Canada
  • Autorité contractante
    • Agence du revenu du Canada
    • Travaux publics et Services gouvernementaux Canada
    • Services partagés Canada
  • Ministères participants
    • s.o.

Entrepreneur principal et sous-traitants principaux

  • Entrepreneur principal
    • s.o.
  • Principal (aux) sous-traitant(s)
    • s.o.

Principaux jalons

  • Jalon important
    • Mise en œuvre de la déclaration des données préalables relatives aux papiers creux et aux messages de fermeture afin d'améliorer les connaissances et la capacité en matière d'évaluation des risques.
    • Mise en œuvre des avis du manifeste acheminé destinés aux partenaires de la chaîne commerciale afin d'améliorer la communication avec ces derniers.
    • Mise en œuvre des messages d'arrivée du moyen de transport par voie électronique dans les modes aérien et maritime afin d'accroître l'observation des partenaires commerciaux.
  • Date
    • Mis en œuvre en juin 2013

Résultats du projet :

Au Manifeste électronique sont associés les résultats immédiats suivants :

  • Accroître la capacité de l'ASFC à évaluer les risques avant l'arrivée des marchandises au Canada
  • Améliorer la capacité à déterminer une admission avant l'arrivée en améliorant la façon d'évaluer les risques
  • Permettre à l'ASFC de mener des activités en matière d'exécution de la loi de manière plus efficace
  • Permettre à l'ASFC de traiter plus rapidement et efficacement les échanges commerciaux de première ligne
  • Permettre à l'ASFC, aux ministères et organismes  participants, et aux partenaires de la chaîne commerciale de se diriger vers un processus de déclaration à l'importation fait de façon automatisée tout en étant compatible avec les normes internationales

Rapport d'étape et explications des écarts :

  • Le système servant à la transmission des données sur le fret et le moyen de transport des transporteurs dans les modes routier et ferroviaire est en place. Une période d'observation avisée est en cours. L'ASFC annoncera à quel moment les règlements visant à imposer les exigences du Manifeste électronique pour les transporteurs du mode routier et ferroviaire devraient être en vigueur, lorsque  tout sera confirmé, et au moins 45 jours avant la date d'observation obligatoire. L'ASFC continue à aider les clients à se conformer au Manifeste électronique par des activités de communication, de sensibilisation, de contrôle de l'observation et par d'autres activités de soutien.
  • En juin 2013, l'ASFC a déployé des systèmes électroniques permettant aux transitaires dans tous les modes de transport de transmettre à l'ASFC des données préalables relatives aux papiers creux. L'ASFC continue de travailler avec les transitaires au cours de la période volontaire afin de veiller à ce qu'ils soient prêts à se conformer au Manifeste électronique lorsque les règlements visant à imposer les exigences du Manifeste électronique deviendront obligatoires.

Retombées industrielles:

  • Le Manifeste électronique aidera les agents des services frontaliers à obtenir les bons renseignements au bon moment et le secteur industriel canadien bénéficiera d'une plus grande prévisibilité à la frontière et de mécanismes de mainlevée rationalisés. Le Manifeste électronique permettra tant à l'industrie qu'à l'ASFC de gérer plus efficacement les volumes d'importations commerciales. En outre, il assurera la circulation sans coutures des marchandises grâce à des processus transfrontières protégés. En ayant en place des contrôles améliorés sur le continuum de la chaîne d'approvisionnement, l'Agence peut affecter plus efficacement des ressources afin d'assurer que les services frontaliers intégrés appuient les priorités liées à la sécurité nationale et à la sécurité publique et facilitent la libre circulation de personnes et de marchandises à faible risque.
Date de modification :