Executive Summary
CBSA-CISC Information Sharing Framework

The primary function of the Criminal Intelligence Service of Canada (CISC) is to facilitate the timely production and exchange of criminal intelligence information to the law enforcement community at the municipal, provincial, and federal levels.  Police agencies use the information stored in a criminal intelligence databank to support the detection, prevention, and disruption of serious and organized crime in Canada.

Through a partnership with CISC, the CBSA will disclose publically available court records related to customs and immigration offences into CISC’s criminal intelligence databank when there are reasonable grounds to believe the offence has a nexus to serious or organized crime.  Police partners will be able to search this information to support specific lawful investigations.  Partners may also request additional information related to the publically available court records through the standard written request process detailed in both the Privacy Act and the Customs Act.

The CBSA’s investigative bodies will collect personal information uploaded into the databank to support ongoing lawful investigations of customs and immigration-related offences with a nexus to serious and organized crime.  Offences investigated under the Customs Act include secreting illicit goods in an attempt to smuggle controlled goods, such as weapons or narcotics, across the Canadian border.  Offences investigated under the Immigration and Refugee Protection Act (IRPA) includes, but is not limited to, serious criminality and for involvement in organized crime which may cause an individual to be inadmissible to Canada.  In all circumstances where queries to the databank yield a match, the CBSA must make a written request detailing the specific information the CBSA is seeking, the authority to request and use that information, and the offence the information will be used to investigate.  In addition, the CBSA will limit the use of this information to the investigation of serious and organized crime and agree to abide by any restrictions imposed by the originating body, and the supporting CBSA Governance Model.

Right of Access

Individuals may formally request access to their personal information, or access to corporate records related to the CBSA – CISC Information Sharing Framework by filing a request with the Access to Information and Privacy Division.  More information about this can be found on the Access to Information and Privacy page.

Accountability

Individuals with concerns about the collection, use, disclosure or retention of their personal information may issue a complaint to the CBSA Access to Information and Privacy Division. Complaints should be made in writing, and include the individual’s name, contact information, and a brief description of their concerns. Contact the Access to Information and Privacy Division at the CBSA.

Date modified:

Sommaire exécutif
Cadre d’échange de renseignements entre l’ASFC et le SCRC

Le rôle principal du Service canadien de renseignements criminels (SCRC) est de faciliter la production et le partage rapide des renseignements criminels à la collectivité des agents d’application de la loi à l’échelle municipale, provinciale et fédérale. Les agences policières utilisent le renseignement contenu dans la base de données de renseignements criminels afin d’appuyer le dépistage, la prévention et la perturbation des crimes graves et du crime organisé au Canada.

En partenariat avec le SCRC, l’ASFC divulguera les dossiers de la cour accessible au public liés aux infractions aux lois douanières ou en matière d’immigration dans la base de données de renseignements criminels du SCRC lorsqu’il y a des motifs raisonnables de croire que l’infraction est liée au crime grave ou organisé. Les partenaires policiers pourront vérifier ces renseignements afin d’appuyer des enquêtes licites précises. Les partenaires pourront aussi demander des renseignements supplémentaires liés aux dossiers de la cour accessible au public en suivant le processus courant de demande écrite décris dans la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels et la Loi sur les douanes.

Les équipes d’enquêtes de l’ASFC collecteront les renseignements personnels consignés à la base de données afin d’appuyer les enquêtes licites continues des infractions aux lois douanières ou en matière d’immigration qui ont un lien au crime grave ou organisé. Les infractions à la Loi sur les douanes qui font l’objet d’enquête comprennent la contrebande de marchandises illicites afin de faire passer à la frontière canadienne des marchandises contrôlées, telles que des armes ou des stupéfiants. Les infractions à la Loi sur l’immigration et la protection des réfugiés (LIRP) qui font l’objet d’enquête comprennent, entre autres, les crimes graves et la participation au crime organisé, ce qui peut entraîner l’interdiction de territoire d’une personne. Toute situation lorsqu’une interrogation de la base de données mène à une correspondance, l’ASFC doit présenter une demande écrite précisant l’information que l’ASFC cherche, l’autorité de présenter la demande et d’utiliser le renseignement et l’infraction sur laquelle le renseignement servira à faire enquête. De plus, l’ASFC restreindra l’utilisation de ce renseignement aux enquêtes sur les crimes graves et le crime organisé et elle consente à respecter les contraintes imposées par l’organisme d’origine et le modèle de la gouvernance de l’ASFC qui s’y rattache.

Droit d’accès

Les personnes peuvent faire une demande officielle d’accès à leurs renseignements personnels ou d’accès aux dossiers d’entreprise lié au cadre d’échange de renseignements entre l’ASFC et le SCRC en présentant une demande avec la Division de l’accès à l'information et la protection des renseignements personnels. Prière de consulter la page de la Division de l’accès à l’information et la protection des renseignements personnels pour obtenir des précisions.

Responsabilisation

Les personnes qui ont des préoccupations quant à la collecte, à l’utilisation, à la divulgation ou à la conservation de leurs renseignements personnels peuvent soumettre une plainte à la Division de l’accès à l’information et la protection des renseignements personnels de l’ASFC. Les plaintes doivent être présentées par écrit et comprendre le nom de la personne, ses coordonnées et une brève description de ses préoccupations. Communiquez avec la Division de l’accès à l’information et la protection des renseignements personnels de l’ASFC.

Date de modification :