Departmental Plan 2017-2018
Status Report on Transformational and Major Crown Projects

Project Name: Electronic Manifest (eManifest)

Description

eManifest is a major transformative initiative and part of the overall measures the Government of Canada is putting in place to enhance the safety and security of Canadians as well as international trade while streamlining cross-border processes. When fully implemented, eManifest will require carriers, freight forwarders, and importers in all modes of transportation to electronically transmit advance commercial information to the CBSA within prescribed mode-specific time frames.

Project outcomes

Industrial benefits

Sponsoring department

Canada Border Services Agency

Contracting authority

Participating departments

Not Applicable (N/A)

Prime contractor

N/A

Major subcontractors

IBM, Emerion

Project phase

Execution Phase

Major milestones

The eManifest planned milestones include the completion of six deployments:

Accomplished:

Planned:

Progress report and explanation of variances

Treasury Board approved eManifest project authority of $415 million.

The eManifest project plan is tracking deliverables and milestones against a revised project plan approved in June 2014. The project is expected to be completed by September 2017 within the approved project authority.

Project Name: CBSA Assessment and Revenue Management Project (CARM)

Description

The CARM project will modernize and transform the systems and processes that support the assessment and collection of revenue from importation activities, and for reporting on revenue information and trade data. CARM will support a number of business improvements needed to address inefficiencies with current systems and processes and also meet key Government of Canada (GC) objectives for "red tape" reduction.

When fully implemented, CARM will provide the CBSA with a modernized and transformed financial management regime focused on providing client-based services and processes, including an accrual system of accounting to ensure CBSA's compliance with the GC's Financial Information System. CARM will additionally facilitate CBSA’s capacity to sustain a control-based audit and meet the requirements under the Treasury Board Secretariat's (TBS) Policy on Internal Controls.

CARM plans to modernize, transform and reduce administrative burdens by the very way it interacts with its clients through automation and the development of smart tools for both clients and CBSA employees to use. CARM will remove administrative burdens associated with business reporting of trade information and improve transparency, predictability, accountability and overall performance. Furthermore, CARM will develop new assessment processes and tools to modernize the CBSA's revenue management and trade programs.

Implementing CARM will address the following business needs in support of CBSA and government-wide priorities and plans:

The CARM project is included in the TBS's oversight portfolio of major Information Technology (IT)-enabled projects.

CARM is dependent on, or has linkages to, the CBSA's eManifest Project and the Beyond the Border Action Plan on Perimeter Security and Economic Competitiveness. Elements common to eManifest and CARM, i.e., identification and authentication, information warehouse, and data acquisition and notification will be used to maximize economies of scale and minimize duplication of effort. CARM will harmonize and streamline the CBSA's revenue accounting and reporting processes.

Project outcomes

Industrial benefits

The CARM project will benefit commercial clients and Canadian businesses by:

Sponsoring department

Canada Border Services Agency

Contracting authority

Participating departments

Canada Revenue Agency (CRA)
Shared Services Canada (SSC)
Treasury Board Secretariat (TBS)

Prime contractor

To be determined.

Major subcontractors

To be determined.

Project phase

CARM is currently in the Planning phase for CARM Phase 2.

In October 2014, the Accounts Receivable Ledger (ARL) project was consolidated with the CARM project. The ARL project was implemented in January 2016 as the first release of CARM.

Major milestones

CARM Phase 1 (Complete)

Major Milestones 2014–15 and 2015–16

CARM Release 1 included the following deployments: Client Master Data, e-payments for customs self-assessment (CSA) clients, ARL, including e-payments for all commercial clients.

CARM Phase 2 (In Process)

CARM Phase 2 includes the execution - in partnership with PSPC - of a collaborative procurement (“Smart Procurement”) to select a vendor partner for design, implementation and ongoing technical operational support of CARM, and completion of a Treasury Board (TB) submission to obtain necessary authorities to enter into a contract with the selected vendor.

Major milestones 2016–17 and 2017–18:

Progress report and explanation of variances

Date modified:

Plan ministériel 2017-2018
Rapport d’étape sur les projets de transformation et les grands projets de l’État

Nom du projet : Manifeste électronique

Description

Le Manifeste électronique est une initiative de transformation majeure qui fait partie des mesures que le gouvernement du Canada met en place pour rehausser la sûreté et la sécurité des Canadiens et des échanges internationaux tout en rationalisant les processus transfrontaliers. Lorsqu'il sera entièrement mis en œuvre, le Manifeste électronique exigera que les transporteurs, les agents d'expédition et les importateurs de tous les modes de transport transmettent l'information préalable sur les expéditions commerciales à l'ASFC par voie électronique dans des délais précis. 

Résultats du projet

Retombées industrielles

Ministère parrain

Agence des services frontaliers du Canada

Autorité contractante

Ministères participants

Sans objet (SO)

Entrepreneur principal

SO

Sous-traitants Principaux

IBM, Emerion

Phase du projet

Étape d'exécution

Jalons importants

Les jalons du Manifeste électronique inclus la livraison de 6 déploiements ; 

Complété

Planifié :

Rapport d'étape et explication des écarts

Le Conseil du Trésor a approuvé le Manifeste électronique dont le coût estimé s’élevait à 415 millions de dollars.

Le plan du projet du Manifeste électronique est évalué par des livrables et jalons définis dans le plan qui a été revu en juin 2014. Le projet devrait être complété d’ici septembre 2017 et ce dans le budget alloué.

Nom du projet : Gestion des cotisations et des recettes de l'ASFC (GCRA)

Description

Le projet de GCRA permettra de moderniser et transformer les systèmes et les processus d'établissement des cotisations et de perception des recettes auprès les activités d’importation, et la production de rapports sur les recettes et les données du secteur commercial. L'initiative de la GCRA appuiera plusieurs améliorations de nature opérationnelle nécessaires pour corriger les lacunes des systèmes et processus actuels, en plus de remplir les principaux objectifs du gouvernement du Canada (GC) en matière de réduction de la « paperasse ».

Une fois totalement mis en œuvre, le projet de GCRA fournira à l'ASFC un régime de gestion financière modernisé et transformé prévoyant la fourniture de services et de processus axés sur la clientèle, notamment un système de comptabilité d'exercice qui permettra à l'ASFC de se conformer au Système d'information financière du GC. Le projet de GCRA facilitera, en outre, la capacité de l'ASFC de faire l'objet d'une vérification axée sur le contrôle et de respecter les exigences de la Politique sur le contrôle interne du Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor (SCT).

L'Agence compte, en outre, moderniser et transformer la façon dont elle interagit avec ses clients par l'automatisation et la mise au point d'outils intelligents pour les clients et les employés de l'ASFC. Le GCRA réduira le fardeau administratif lié aux rapports d'entreprise servant à communiquer des données commerciales et elle améliorera la transparence, la prévisibilité, la reddition de comptes et le rendement global. De plus, de nouveaux processus et outils d'établissement des cotisations seront mis sur pied afin de moderniser la gestion des recettes et les programmes commerciaux de l'ASFC.

La mise en œuvre de la GCRA répondra aux besoins opérationnels suivants à l'appui des priorités et des plans de l'ASFC et de l'ensemble du gouvernement :

Le projet de GCRA est inclus dans le portefeuille de surveillance des grands projets appuyés par la technologie de l'information (TI) du SCT.

Le projet de GCRA est subordonné ou lié au projet du Manifeste électronique et au Plan d'action Par-delà la frontière pour la sécurité du périmètre et la compétitivité économique. Les éléments communs du Manifeste électronique et de la GCRA, c.-à d. l'identification et l'authentification, les entrepôts d'information, l'acquisition de données et la notification permettront de réaliser les meilleures économies d'échelle et de réduire au minimum le dédoublement d'efforts. La GCRA harmonisera et simplifiera les processus d'établissement de rapports et de comptabilisation des recettes de l'ASFC.

Résultats du projet

Retombées industrielles

Les clients commerciaux et les entreprises canadiennes bénéficieront du projet de GCRA par :

Ministère parrain

Agence des services frontaliers du Canada (ASFC)

Autorité contractante

Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada (SPAC) (anciennement Travaux publics et Services gouvernementaux Canada (TPSGC))

Ministères participants

Agence du revenu du Canada (ARC)
Services partagés Canada (SPC)
Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor (SCT)

Entrepreneur principal

À déterminer

Sous-traitants Principaux

À déterminer

Phase du projet

La GCRA est présentement dans la phase de planification de l'étape 2 de la GCRA.

En octobre 2014, le projet du Grand livre des comptes clients (GLCC) a été consolidé avec le projet GCRA. Le projet de la GLCC a été mis en œuvre en janvier 2016 comme la première version de la GCRA.

Jalons importants

Étape 1 de la GCRA (Terminé)

Jalons importants des exercices financiers 2014-2015 et 2015-2016

La version 1 de la GCRA comprenait les déploiements suivants : les données de référence sur les clients, les paiements électroniques pour les clients du programme d’autocotisation des douanes (PAD), le GLCC, y compris les paiements électroniques pour tous les clients du secteur commercial.

Étape 2 de la GCRA (en cours)

L’étape 2 de la GCRA comprend, l’exécution (en partenariat avec SPAC) d’un processus d’approvisionnement collaboratif (Approvisionnement éclairé) en vue de sélectionner un fournisseur partenaire pour la conception, la mise en œuvre et le soutien opérationnel technique de la GCRA, et l’achèvement d’une présentation au Conseil du Trésor (CT) pour obtenir les autorités nécessaires pour conclure un contrat avec le fournisseur sélectionné.

Jalons importants des exercices financiers 2015-2016 et 2016-2017 :

Rapport d'étape et explication des écarts

Date de modification :