Courier Low Value Shipment Program
Importing commercial goods by courier

In this section

Commercial goods are intended for any commercial, industrial, occupational, institutional or other similar use. A commercial importer is a person who imports commercial goods or has commercial goods imported.

Importer participation in the Courier Low Value Shipment (CLVS) Program is optional.

How does the Courier Low Value Shipment Program work?

Reporting, Accounting and the Courier Imports Remission Order

Reporting

Couriers who are interested in participating in the CLVS Program must submit their application and, if all requirements are met, they may be accepted into the program as a participant. Participating couriers must report transactional shipment information (such as the name of the importer or exporter and a description of the goods, their value and country of origin) for all qualifying shipments on the conveyance. Couriers must present this information on one summarized cargo release list report so that the CBSA can release the goods.

Accounting

The accounting must be presented to the CBSA on a monthly consolidated B3 Canada Customs Coding Form or CADEX type "F" entry. The type of consolidation — by importer, courier, port of entry or total consolidation — is at the discretion of the importer or customs broker and can be either national or regional (see Memorandum D17-1-10 Appendix J for details).

The courier must provide the importer with a receipt containing details of the transaction as reported to the CBSA. This receipt must also include a breakdown of the duties and/or taxes paid and the unique shipment identification number identified on the cargo release list (see Memorandum D1-8-1 for details).

For complete details on the CLVS Program, see Memorandum D17-4-0 and for commercial processing details see Memorandum D17-1-4 and Memorandum D17-1-5.

Courier Imports Remission Order

Under the Courier Imports Remission Order, imported goods worth Can$20 or less, may be duty and/or tax free (see Memorandum D8-2-16 for details).

Customs brokers and brokerage fees

The CBSA licenses customs brokers to carry out customs-related responsibilities on behalf of their clients. Importers may authorize a customs broker to report and account for goods and pay any applicable duties and/or taxes owed to the CBSA on their behalf.

A customs broker can facilitate the accounting of shipments based on the documentation supplied by the exporter, courier or importer.

A power of attorney must exist between the importer and the customs broker. This power of attorney authorizes the customs broker to present accounting documents and pay duties and taxes on the importer's behalf. By signing a power of attorney, the importer allows a customs broker to do business with the CBSA on their behalf.

See Memorandum D1-6-1 for details.

Claiming an adjustment for commercial importations

To apply for an adjustment to an accounting document for commercial goods, an importer or customs broker must prepare and submit Form B2, Canada Customs – Adjustment Request, to any CBSA office (see Memorandum D17-2-1 and Memorandum D11-6-3 for details).

Questions or concerns regarding brokerage, shipping and handling fees should be addressed directly with either your courier or customs broker.

For more information on refunds and adjustments, see Memorandum D6-2-6, Memorandum D6-2-3, Memorandum D6-2-4 and Memorandum D6-2-5.

Date modified:

Programme des messageries d'expéditions de faible valeur
Importation de marchandises commerciales par messagerie

Dans cette section

Les marchandises commerciales sont utilisées à des fins commerciales, industrielles, professionnelles, organisationnelles ou à d'autres fins similaires. Un importateur commercial est une personne qui importe des marchandises commerciales ou en fait importer.

La participation des importateurs au Programme des messageries – EFV est optionnelle.

Comment fonctionne le programme des messageries – EFV?

Déclaration, déclaration en détail et Décret de remise visant les importations par messagerie

Déclaration

Les entreprises de messagerie qui souhaitent participer au programme doivent présenter une demande et, si elles répondent à toutes les exigences, elles seront acceptées au sein du programme. Les entreprises participantes doivent déclarer les données relatives aux expéditions (comme le nom de l'importateur ou de l'exportateur, une description des marchandises, leur valeur et le pays d'origine) pour toutes les expéditions admissibles qui se trouvent à bord du moyen de transport. Elles doivent présenter cette information dans une liste de fret et de mainlevée sommaire afin que l'ASFC puisse accorder la mainlevée les marchandises.

Déclaration en détail

La déclaration en détail doit être présentée à l'ASFC chaque mois, en regroupant les données sur un formulaire B3 (Douanes Canada – Formule de codage)  ou une déclaration CADEX de type F. Le type de regroupement – par importateur, par entreprise de messagerie, par point d'entrée ou regroupement total – est à la discrétion de l'importateur ou du courtier en douane, et il peut être à l'échelle nationale ou régionale (consulter l'annexe J du Mémorandum D17-1-10 pour connaître les détails).

L'entreprise de messagerie doit remettre à l'importateur un reçu mentionnant les détails de la transaction comme ils ont été déclarés à l'ASFC. Doivent aussi figurer sur ce reçu une ventilation des droits et des taxes payés ainsi que le numéro d'identification unique de l'expédition mentionnée sur la liste de fret et de mainlevée (consulter le Mémorandum D1-8-1 pour connaître les détails).

Pour tous les détails sur le Programme des messageries – EFV, consulter le Mémorandum D17-4-0 et pour connaître les détails concernant le traitement commercial, se référer aux mémorandums D17-1-4 et D17-1-5.

Décret de remise visant les importations par messagerie

Selon le Décret de remise visant les importations par messagerie, les marchandises valant 20 $ CA ou moins peuvent être importées en franchise de droits et de taxes (consulter le Mémorandum D8-2-16 pour connaître les détails).

Courtiers en douane et frais de courtage

L'ASFC donne un agrément aux courtiers en douane pour exercer les responsabilités relatives aux douanes pour le compte de leurs clients. Les importateurs peuvent autoriser un courtier en douane à présenter la déclaration et la déclaration en détail des marchandises et à acquitter les droits et les taxes exigibles par l'ASFC pour leur compte.

Un courtier en douane peut faciliter la déclaration en détail des expéditions en se fondant sur les documents fournis par l'exportateur, l'entreprise de messagerie ou l'importateur.

Il doit y avoir une délégation de pouvoir entre l'importateur et le courtier en douane. Cette délégation de pouvoir permet au courtier en douane de présenter des documents de déclaration en détail et de payer les droits et les taxes au nom de l'importateur. En signant une délégation de pouvoir, l'importateur autorise un courtier en douane à faire des transactions avec l'ASFC pour lui.

Consulter le Mémorandum D1-6-1 pour connaître les détails.

Demande de rajustement visant des importations commerciales

Pour demander le rajustement d'un document de déclaration en détail visant des marchandises commerciales, un importateur ou un courtier en douane doit remplir le formulaire B2, Douanes Canada – Demande de rajustement, et le présenter à un bureau de l'ASFC (consulter les mémorandums D17-2-1 et D11-6-3 pour connaître les détails).

L'ASFC ne rembourse pas les frais de courtage, d'expédition et de manutention. Communiquer avec l'entreprise de messagerie ou le courtier en douane pour toute question concernant ces frais.

Pour de plus amples renseignements sur les remboursements et les rajustements, consulter les mémorandums D6-2-6, D6-2-3, D6-2-4 et D6-2-5.

Date de modification :