Job Opportunities

Student Border Services Officer

The Canada Border Services Agency (CBSA) offers exciting job opportunities for college and university students that will provide them with the opportunity to gain exposure to the important work undertaken by the Agency at the country's international airports.

About the job

Student border services officers (SBSOs) work with border services officers (BSOs) to ensure the country's security and prosperity by managing the access of people and goods to and from Canada. Typically, they carry out primary inspections at international airports across the country. SBSOs are not armed, and the CBSA does not hire students for locations where BSOs are armed or will be armed.

On a daily basis, SBSOs will need to demonstrate sound judgment, effective communication skills, a commitment to service excellence, as well as the ability to perform well in difficult situations.

Work locations

Positions for SBSOs are typically located in the following cities:

Alberta
Calgary, Edmonton

British Columbia
Vancouver, Surrey

Manitoba
Winnipeg

Nova Scotia
Halifax

Ontario
Mississauga, Toronto, Hamilton, Toronto Pearson International Airport, Ottawa Macdonald-Cartier International Airport

Quebec
Québec City, Montréal, Dorval

Saskatchewan
Saskatoon, Regina

How to become a student border services officer

Eligibility and Experience

The CBSA is looking for highly motivated, mature, and reliable post-secondary students to work as Student Border Services Officers (SBSO).

To be eligible, applicants must meet the following general Federal Student Work Experience (FSWEP) criteria:

  • Be enrolled full-time in an accredited post-secondary institution and currently be recognized as having “full-time student status” by that academic institution
  • Be returning to full-time studies in the next academic term
  • Meet the minimum age requirement to work in the province or territory where the job is located

Please note that preference may be given to students in a field related to the job such as criminology, law, law and security, law enforcement, policing, psychology, sociology or business administration.

Preference will also be given to Canadian citizens.

Conditions of employment

SBSOs must also obtain and meet the following conditions of employment prior to their appointment to the SBSO position:

  • Must have successful completed the Canadian Firearms Safety Course (CFSC) and the Canadian Restricted Firearms Safety Course (CRFSC) and pass the tests, OR challenge and pass both the CFSC and the CRFSC tests without taking either course. Please note, SBSOs are not armed with a duty firearm but may have to handle firearms during a search or seizure.
  • Possess the Standard First Aid certification (required by the Canada Labour Code, Part II and the Canada Occupational Health and Safety Regulations, Part XVI). This certification involves completing a two (2)-day, 14–16 hour Standard First Aid course from a provincially or territorially approved provider.
  • Have and maintain a valid driver's licence that allows the holder to drive a motor vehicle in Canada where required.
  • Obtain and maintain a Secret Security Clearance. Please note that successful candidates considered for employment will be requested to obtain digital fingerprints on their own time and at their own expense.
  • Obtain a Transportation Security Clearance. (The Agency coordinates this for the SBSO.)
  • Successful completion of requirements associated with the carry, use and maintenance of CBSA issued defensive equipment, in accordance with the CBSA's policies and directives.
  • A medical standard is required to perform the duties of a SBSO. A physician (Health Canada or designate) will complete an Occupational Health Assessment Report which will attest to physical ability to perform the duties of a SBSO position and participate in the required training prior to employment. The CBSA will arrange this appointment.
  • Be willing to work various shifts on rotation, including weekends, statutory holidays, and work overtime when required.
  • Wear and maintain a uniform as per the CBSA Uniform Policy and Standards of Appearance.
  • Be willing to operate a government vehicle as required.

Please note that applicants are required to obtain firearms courses and standard first aid certification on their own time and at their own expense.

Salary

SBSOs are paid according to the Treasury Board's Terms and Conditions of Employment for Students. More information on rates of pay for students can be found on the Treasury Board Secretariat's website.

Training

Upon recruitment, SBSOs will typically receive three weeks of formal training and on-the-job shadowing/coaching.

Employment equity

The CBSA is committed to having a skilled, diversified workforce reflective of Canadian society and to the equitable representation of women (especially in non-traditional occupational groups), Aboriginal peoples, persons with a disability, and members of a visible minority group.

How to apply

SBSO recruitment takes place each year depending on the geographical location of the job opening. Visit the FSWEP website, click on "Departmental Programs" from the menu on the left, and then “Canada Border Services Agency - Student Border Services Officer” to view the job poster.

Please note that to apply to become a SBSO, students must first apply to the general FSWEP program and then modify their FSWEP application to apply for a departmental program.

Should you have any questions about the application process, please contact cfp.pfete-fswep.psc@cfp-psc.gc.ca.

Prospects for the future

The demands placed on BSOs are continually evolving. Students considering permanent employment as a BSO must apply to the CBSA Officer Trainee selection process, and successfully complete the Officer Induction Training Program and the Officer Induction Development Program as an officer trainee at a port of entry within Canada. Therefore, the student bridging option is not available for BSO positions.

For more information about the CBSA, please visit the About Us section of the Agency's website.

Possibilités d'emploi

Agent étudiant des services frontaliers

L'Agence des services frontaliers du Canada (ASFC) offre d'excitantes possibilités d'emploi aux étudiants de niveaux collégial et universitaire, qui leur permettront de constater l'important travail qu'accomplit l'Agence dans les aéroports internationaux du pays. 

À propos du poste

Les agents étudiants des services frontaliers (AESF) travaillent aux côtés des agents des services frontaliers (ASF) pour assurer la sécurité et la prospérité du Canada en gérant l'accès des personnes et des marchandises qui entrent au Canada ou qui en sortent. Normalement, ils procèdent à des inspections primaires dans les aéroports internationaux du pays. Les AESF ne sont pas armés, et l'ASFC n'embauche pas d'étudiants dans des endroits où les ASF sont armés ou le seront à l'avenir.

Au quotidien, les AESF devront communiquer efficacement, faire preuve d'un bon jugement et d'un engagement envers l'excellence du service à la clientèle et être en mesure de travailler efficacement dans des situations difficiles.

Lieux de travail

Généralement, les postes d'AESF se trouvent dans les villes suivantes :

Alberta
Calgary, Edmonton

Colombie-Britannique
Vancouver, Surrey

Manitoba
Winnipeg

Nouvelle-Écosse
Halifax

Ontario
Mississauga, Toronto, Hamilton, aéroport international Pearson de Toronto, aéroport international Macdonald-Cartier d'Ottawa

Québec
Québec, Montréal, Dorval

Saskatchewan
Saskatoon, Regina

Comment devenir un agent étudiant des services frontaliers

Admissibilité et expérience

L'ASFC est à la recherche d'étudiants postsecondaires très motivés, matures et fiables pour pourvoir les postes d'agent étudiant des services frontaliers (AESF).

Pour être admissibles, les candidats doivent répondre aux critères généraux du Programme fédéral d'expérience de travail étudiant (PFETE) :

  • être inscrit comme étudiant à temps plein au niveau postsecondaire dans un établissement d'enseignement accrédité, et être reconnu comme « étudiant à temps plein » par cet établissement d'enseignement;
  • retourner aux études à temps plein au trimestre suivant;
  • avoir l'âge minimum requis pour travailler dans la province ou le territoire où l'emploi est offert.

Veuillez noter que la préférence pourrait être accordée aux personnes qui étudient dans un domaine lié à l'emploi, tel que criminologie, droit, droit et sécurité, application de la loi, services policiers, psychologie, sociologie ou administration des affaires.

La préférence sera aussi accordée aux citoyens canadiens.

Conditions d'emploi

Les AESF doivent également respecter les conditions d'emploi suivantes :

  • Avoir terminé avec succès le Cours canadien de sécurité dans le maniement des armes à feu (CCSMAF) et le Cours canadien de sécurité dans le maniement des armes à feu à autorisation restreinte (CCSMAFAR) et réussir les examens, OU avoir réussi avec succès le CCSMAF et le CCSMAFAR sans avoir suivi l'un ou l'autre de ces cours. Veuillez noter que les AESF ne portent pas l'arme à feu de service, mais pourraient devoir manier des armes à feu dans le cadre d'une fouille ou d'une saisie.
  • Posséder un certificat de secourisme général (exigence du Code canadien du travail, partie II, et du Règlement canadien sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, partie XVI). Ce certificat est obtenu après avoir suivi un cours de secourisme général de deux (2) jours (14 à 16 heures) auprès d'un organisme provincial ou territorial agréé.
  • Posséder et conserver un permis de conduire valide autorisant le détenteur de permis à conduire un véhicule motorisé au Canada, au besoin.
  • Obtenir et maintenir une cote de sécurité de niveau secret. Veuillez noter que les candidats retenus pour embauche devront faire prendre leurs empreintes digitales numériques par leurs propres moyens et en défrayer les coûts connexes.
  • Obtenir une habilitation de sécurité en matière de transport. (L'Agence se charge de la coordination avec l'AESF.)
  • Avoir complété avec succès la formation requise associée au port, à l'usage et à l'entretien de l'équipement de défense, conformément aux politiques et aux directives de l'ASFC.
  • Répondre à certaines normes médicales pour pouvoir exercer les fonctions d'AESF. Un médecin (de Santé Canada ou expert désigné) préparera un Rapport de santé et sécurité au travail qui attestera de vos capacités pour accomplir les tâches d'AESF et prendre part à la formation obligatoire préalable à l'emploi. L'ASFC fixera le rendez-vous chez le médecin.
  • Être prêt à travailler en rotation selon différents quarts de travail, ce qui inclut les fins de semaine ainsi que les jours fériés, et à travailler des heures supplémentaires au besoin.
  • Porter et entretenir un uniforme conformément à la Politique relative aux uniformes et normes quant à l'apparence en vigueur à l'ASFC.
  • Consentir à conduire un véhicule du gouvernement, au besoin.

Veuillez noter que les candidats doivent suivre les cours sur les armes à feu et les cours de secourisme pendant leurs temps libres et défrayer les coûts connexes.

Salaire

Les AESF sont rémunérés conformément aux Conditions d'emploi pour les étudiants du Conseil du Trésor. Le site Web du Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor contient de plus amples informations sur les taux de rémunération des étudiants.

Formation

Une fois embauchés, les AESF reçoivent généralement une formation officielle de trois semaines et bénéficient d'un jumelage/encadrement en milieu de travail.

Équité en matière d'emploi

L'ASFC s'engage à se doter d'un effectif compétent diversifié et représentatif de la société canadienne et à assurer une représentation des femmes (particulièrement dans les groupes professionnels non traditionnels), des Autochtones, des personnes handicapées et des membres de minorités visibles.

Comment postuler

Le recrutement des AESF s'effectue chaque année en fonction de l'emplacement géographique des postes disponibles. Visitez le site Web du PFETE, cliquez sur « Programmes ministériels » dans le menu à gauche, puis sur « Agence des services frontaliers du Canada – Agent étudiant des services frontaliers » pour consulter l'offre d'emploi.

Veuillez noter qu'avant de poser leur candidature au poste d'AESF, les étudiants doivent s'être d'abord inscrits à la Campagne PFETE et ensuite modifier leur candidature à un programme ministériel dans le cadre du PFETE.  

Pour toute question au sujet du processus de candidature, prière de communiquer avec cfp.pfete-fswep.psc@cfp-psc.gc.ca.

Perspectives d'avenir

Les exigences imposées aux ASF sont en constante évolution. Les étudiants qui désirent obtenir un emploi permanent à titre d'ASF doivent soumettre leur candidature dans le cadre du processus de sélection des agents stagiaires de l'ASFC, et réussir le Programme de formation de base des agents ainsi que le Programme de développement de base des agents stagiaires en tant qu'agent stagiaire à un point d'entrée du Canada. C'est pourquoi le mécanisme d'intégration des étudiants ne s'applique pas aux postes d'ASF.

Pour de plus amples informations sur l'ASFC, veuillez visiter la section « À propos de l'ASFC » du site Web de l'Agence.