Rules of Origin for Casual Goods Under Free Trade Agreements
Memorandum D11-4-13

ISSN 2369-2391

Ottawa, November 29, 2017

This document is also available in PDF (113 KB) [help with PDF files]

In Brief

  1. This memorandum has been revised to reflect the implementation of the Canada-Ukraine Free Trade Agreement and the Canada-European Union Comprehensive Economic and Trade Agreement. Changes have been made to the “Guidelines and General Information” to provide policy and procedural information related to the administration of this free trade agreement.
  2. The editing revisions made in this memorandum do not affect or change any of the existing policies or procedures.

Rules of origin for casual goods regulations are used to determine the entitlement of casual goods to preferential tariff treatment with respect to Canada’s Free Trade Agreements. This memorandum contains guidelines concerning the administration of the regulations named below.

Legislation

Guidelines and General Information

1. Casual goods, defined in each of the regulations listed in the Legislation section above, are goods that are not intended for sale or for any industrial, occupational, commercial, institutional, or other like use. The goods may accompany an importer or traveller arriving in Canada, or they may be parcels addressed to individual recipients in Canada.

2. Casual goods, as defined in each of the Regulations listed in the Legislation section above, are deemed originating where:

3. In addition, under NAFTA, casual goods acquired in the United States are eligible for the Mexico tariff treatment if they are marked so as to indicate that they are a product of Mexico and they are marked in accordance with U.S. marking legislation. Similarly, casual goods acquired in Mexico are eligible for the United States tariff treatment if they are marked so as to indicate that they are a product of the United States and they are marked in accordance with Mexican marking legislation.

4. To be eligible for preferential tariff treatment under a Free Trade Agreement (FTA), casual goods must be acquired in the FTA territory and must enter Canada, or be shipped to Canada, from that territory as defined in the FTA. For example, to be eligible for preferential tariff treatment under the Canada-European Union Comprehensive Economic and Trade Agreement (CETA), casual goods acquired in an EU country or other CETA beneficiary must enter Canada, or be shipped to Canada, from an EU country or other CETA beneficiary. The territory of the CETA is defined in the Regulations Defining “EU country or other CETA beneficiary”. The territory of all other FTAs is defined in each FTA.

5. Marking imported goods in a deceptive manner, or altering or removing marks, so as to mislead another person as to the country of origin, is considered an offence under paragraph 153(c) of the Customs Act (the Act). This paragraph prohibits any action that evades or attempts to evade the payment of duties. An offence under section 153 of the Act is subject to sanctions under section 160 of the Act.

6. The Proof of Origin of Imported Goods Regulations exempts importers of casual goods from the requirement to present a certificate of origin for the goods or to make a declaration of origin attesting to possession of a certificate.

Additional Information

7. For more information, within Canada call the Border Information Service at 1-800-461-9999. From outside Canada call 204-983-3500 or 506-636-5064. Long distance charges will apply. Agents are available Monday to Friday (08:00 – 16:00 local time / except holidays). TTY is also available within Canada: 1-866-335-3237.

References

Issuing office:
Trade and Anti-dumping Programs Directorate
Headquarters file:
 
Legislative references:

Customs Act
NAFTA Rules of Origin for Casual Goods Regulations
CIFTA Rules of Origin for Casual Goods Regulations
CCFTA Rules of Origin for Casual Goods Regulations
CCRFTA Rules of Origin for Casual Goods Regulations
CPFTA Rules of Origin for Casual Goods Regulations
CCOFTA Rules of Origin for Casual Goods Regulations
CEFTA Rules of Origin for Casual Goods Regulations
CJFTA Rules of Origin for Casual Goods Regulations
CPAFTA Rules of Origin for Casual Goods Regulations
CUFTA Rules of Origin for Casual Goods Regulations
CETA Rules of Origin for Casual Goods Regulations
Proof of Origin of Imported Goods Regulations

Other references:
 
Superseded memorandum D:
D11-4-13 dated June 6, 2017
Date modified:

Règles d’origine des marchandises occasionnelles en vertu d’accords de libre-échange
Mémorandum D11-4-13

ISSN 2369-2405

Ottawa, le 29 novembre 2017

Ce document est disponible en format PDF (165 Ko) [aide sur les fichiers PDF]

En résumé

  1. Le présent mémorandum a été révisé afin de tenir compte de la mise en œuvre de l’Accord de libre-échange Canada-Ukraine et de l’Accord économique et commercial global entre le Canada et l’Union européenne. Des modifications ont été apportées aux « Lignes directrices et renseignements généraux » afin de fournir de l’information sur les politiques et les procédures relativement à l’administration de cet accord de libre-échange.
  2. Les modifications supplémentaires liées à la révision du texte qui ont été apportées ne modifient aucunement les politiques ou procédures existantes comprises dans le présent mémorandum.

Les règles d’origine des marchandises occasionnelles sont utilisées pour déterminer l’admissibilité des marchandises occasionnelles au traitement tarifaire préférentiel en vertu des accords de libre-échange du Canada. Le présent mémorandum contient des lignes directrices concernant l’administration des règlements nommés ci-dessous.

Législation

Lignes directrices et renseignements généraux

1. Dans chacun des règlements identifiés dans la section Législation ci-dessus, les marchandises occasionnelles sont définies comme étant des marchandises autres que celles importées en vue de leur vente ou d’usages industriels, professionnels, commerciaux ou collectifs ou à d’autres fins analogues. Les marchandises peuvent accompagner un importateur ou un voyageur arrivant au Canada ou peuvent comprendre des paquets adressés à des destinataires au Canada.

2. Les marchandises occasionnelles, telles que définies dans chacun des règlements identifiés dans la section Législation ci-dessus sont présumées originaires:

3. En outre, conformément à l’ALÉNA, les marchandises occasionnelles acquises aux États-Unis sont admissibles au tarif du Mexique si le marquage est conforme aux lois des États-Unis et indique que les marchandises sont des produits du Mexique. De la même façon, les marchandises occasionnelles acquises au Mexique sont admissibles au tarif des États-Unis si le marquage est conforme aux lois du Mexique et indique que les marchandises sont des produits des États-Unis.

4. Pour être admissibles au traitement tarifaire préférentiel d’un accord de libre-échange (ALÉ) les marchandises occasionnelles doivent être acquises dans le territoire de l’ALÉ et doivent entrer au Canada ou être expédiées au Canada, à partir du territoire tel qu’il est défini dans l’ALÉ. Par exemple, pour être admissibles au traitement tarifaire préférentiel de l’Accord économique et commercial global entre le Canada et l’Union européenne (AÉCG), les marchandises occasionnelles acquises dans l’Union européenne ou autre bénéficiaire de l’AÉCG doivent entrer au Canada ou être expédiées au Canada à partir d’un pays de l’Union européenne ou autre bénéficiaire de l’AÉCG. Le territoire de l’AÉCG est décrit dans le Règlement définissant « pays de l’Union européenne ou autre bénéficiaire de l’AÉCG ». Le territoire de tout autre ALÉ est défini dans chacun de ces ALÉs.

5. Le fait de marquer des marchandises importées de façon trompeuse, ou encore de modifier ou d’enlever les marques afin de tromper une autre personne quant au pays d’origine constitue une infraction aux termes de l’alinéa 153c) de la Loi sur les douanes (la Loi). Cet alinéa interdit toute mesure visant à éluder ou à tenter d’éluder le paiement des droits. Une infraction aux termes de l’article 153 de la Loi est passible de sanctions en vertu de l’article 160 de la Loi.

6. Le Règlement sur la justification de l’origine des marchandises importées prévoit que les importateurs de marchandises occasionnels ne sont pas tenus de présenter un certificat d’origine pour les marchandises ou de produire une déclaration d’origine attestant qu’ils ont ce certificat en leur possession.

Renseignements supplémentaires

7. Pour plus d’information, si vous êtes au Canada, communiquez avec le Service d’information sur la frontière au 1-800-461-9999. De l’extérieur du Canada, composez le 204-983-3500 ou le 506-636-5064. Des frais d’interurbain seront facturés. Les agents sont disponibles durant les heures normales d’ouverture des bureaux (8 h à 16 h, heure locale), du lundi au vendredi (sauf les jours fériés). Un ATS est aussi disponible pour les appels provenant du Canada : 1-866-335-3237.

Références

Bureau de diffusion :
Direction des programmes commerciaux et antidumping
Dossier de l'administration centrale :
 
Références légales :

Loi sur les douanes
Règlement sur les règles d’origine des marchandises occasionnelles (ALÉNA)
Règlement sur les règles d’origine des marchandises occasionnelles (ALÉCI)
Règlement sur les règles d’origine des marchandises occasionnelles (ALÉCC)
Règlement sur les règles d’origine des marchandises occasionnelles (ALÉCCR)
Règlement sur les règles d’origine des marchandises occasionnelles (ALÉCP)
Règlement sur les règles d’origine des marchandises occasionnelles (ALÉCCO)
Règlement sur les règles d’origine des marchandises occasionnelles (ALÉCA)
Règlement sur les règles d’origine des marchandises occasionnelles (ALÉCJ)
Règlement sur les règles d’origine des marchandises occasionnelles (ALÉCPA)
Règlement sur les règles d’origine des marchandises occasionnelles (ALÉCU)
Règlement sur les règles d’origine des marchandises occasionnelles (AÉCG)
Règlement sur la justification de l’origine des marchandises importées

Autres références :
 
Ceci annule le mémorandum D :
D11-4-13, daté du 6 juin 2017
Date de modification :