Moving or returning to Canada

This information will be helpful if you are:

Note:

These are general guidelines only. Refer to the Customs Tariff, the Customs Act and the related regulations to ensure all legal requirements are fulfilled.

For more information, refer to Memorandum D2-2-1, Settlers' Effects - Tariff Item No. 9807.00.00 and Memorandum D2-3-2, Former Residents of Canada – Tariff Item No. 9805.00.00.

Before moving or returning to Canada

Before you leave for Canada, you should prepare two copies of a list of all the goods you intend to bring into Canada as part of your personal effects. The list should indicate the value, make, model and serial number (where applicable) of all the goods.

Divide the list into two sections. In the first section, list the goods you are bringing with you; in the second, list the goods to follow. Goods that arrive later will only qualify for duty- and tax-free importation under your entitlement if they are on your original list.

Items you can import duty- and tax-free

You can include the following personal and household effects in your duty- and tax-free entitlement:

Note the following specifications for certain circumstances

Subsection Action Required

Jewellery

Describe each item of jewellery you plan to bring into Canada on the list of goods you submit. Since jewellery is difficult to describe accurately, it is best to use the wording from your insurance policy or jeweller's appraisal and to include photographs that have been dated and signed by jeweller or gemologist. This makes it easier to identify the jewellery when you first enter Canada, and later when you return from abroad with the jewellery.

Goods subject to regular duty and taxes

A house or a large trailer you use as a residence and any goods you use or will use commercially are not eligible as personal or household effects. These goods are subject to regular duty and taxes.

Value limitation (CAN$10,000) *only applies to former residents

Any single personal or household item, including an automobile, that is worth more than CAN$10,000 on the date you import it, is subject to applicable duty and taxes on the amount over CAN$10,000. (This applies to items acquired after March 31, 1977.

Additional personal exemption

You are entitled to claim a duty- and tax-free personal exemption of a maximum value of CAN$800 for goods you acquired abroad or while in transit. You do not have to own, possess or use these goods before you return to Canada to resume residence. For further information on this personal exemption, refer to I Declare.

Wedding Gifts

If you got married within three months of coming to Canada or if you plan to marry within three months after arriving in this country, you can bring in your wedding gifts free of duty and taxes. However, you must have owned and possessed the gifts before you arrived in Canada. In this instance, the requirement to have used the goods does not apply.

Alcoholic beverages

Refer to the Alcoholic beverages section of I Declare

Tobacco Products

Refer to the Tobacco products section of I Declare

Currency restrictions *only applies to those establishing a residence in Canada for the first time, i.e. not applicable to former residents.

 

Some countries limit the amount of money you can take out of the country. Check with your bank, lawyer or financial advisor to see if the country from which you are emigrating has restrictions on exporting currency to Canada. If they do, you may be able to take advantage of a special provision that will allow you to claim free importation of certain goods.

To claim free importation of goods, you must satisfy the CBSA at the time of importation that the country from which you emigrated does apply currency restrictions and that, due to such restrictions, your currency could not be exported at the time of emigration.

If you are moving to Canada from a country that applies currency restrictions, you may have up to three years to import goods purchased with blocked funds in your former country. For such goods, the ownership, possession and use requirements would not apply.

For more information, refer to Memorandum D2-2-2, Settlers' Effects Acquired With Blocked Currencies.

Ownership, possession and use requirements

To import goods duty- and tax-free, those entering Canada with the intention of establishing for the first time a residence of one year or more, must have owned, possessed and used the goods abroad prior to arriving in Canada.

In the case of former residents, you must have owned, possessed and used the goods abroad for at least six months before returning to resume residence. The six-month stipulation will be waived if you have resided abroad for five years or more.

If you have bills of sale and registration documents, they can help you prove that you meet these requirements. Leased goods are subject to duty and taxes because the CBSA does not consider you to own them.

Note: even if your goods meet the ownership, possession and use requirements, they must still meet requirements of other government departments. For information on other restrictions and requirements for goods being imported into Canada, refer to Restrictions.

Declaring your goods upon arrival in Canada

Even if you have no goods with you on arrival, you must give your list of goods to the border services officer at your first point of entry in Canada. Based on the list of goods you submit, the officer will complete Form BSF186, Personal Effects Accounting Document, assign a file number to it, and give you a copy of the completed form as a receipt. You will need to present your copy of this form to claim free importation of your unaccompanied goods when they arrive. Goods to follow may be subject to import restrictions before you can import them.

To facilitate the clearance process, you can complete Form BSF186 before your arrival in Canada.

Disposing of goods

If you import goods duty- and tax-free or goods that have benefited from a CAN$10,000 reduction in value, and sell or give the goods away within one year after importation, you will have to pay the duty and taxes initially exempted. If you divert the goods for commercial use, the same rule applies.

Restrictions

Importing certain goods into Canada is restricted or prohibited. Here are some examples:

Public health

If you are suffering from a communicable disease upon your arrival/return to Canada, or if you have been in close contact with someone with a communicable disease, you are required to inform a border services officer or quarantine officer, who can determine if you require further assessment. If you have been ill while travelling or become ill after you arrive/return to Canada, consult a Canadian doctor and inform them where you have travelled abroad and what, if any, treatment or medical care you have received (for example medications, blood transfusions, injections, dental care, or surgery).

More information

For more information about moving or returning to Canada, contact the Border Information Service.

Date modified:

Immigrer ou revenir vivre au Canada

Ces renseignements vous seront utiles si vous êtes :

Nota :

La présente page contient des renseignements généraux seulement. Consultez le Tarif des douanes, la Loi sur les douanes et les règlements connexes pour vous assurer de satisfaire à toutes les exigences juridiques.

Pour en savoir plus, consultez Mémorandum D2-2-1, Effets d'immigrants – numéro tarifaire 9807.00.00 et Mémorandum D2-3-2, Anciens résidents du Canada – numéro tarifaire 9805.00.00.

Avant d'immigrer ou de revenir au Canada

Avant votre départ pour le Canada, dressez une liste en deux copies de tous les biens que vous souhaitez importer au Canada à titre d'effets personnels en y inscrivant leur valeur, leur marque, leur modèle et leur numéro de série (s'il y a lieu).

Divisez la liste en deux sections. Dans la première section, énumérez les biens que vous apportez avec vous, et dans la deuxième, les biens à suivre. Les biens qui arriveront plus tard ne se qualifieront comme importations en franchise de droits et de taxes en vertu de vos droits d'immigrant ou d'ancien résident que s'ils sont inscrits sur votre liste originale.

Articles que vous pouvez importer en franchise de droits et de taxes

Vous pouvez inclure dans votre allocation, en franchise de droits et de taxes, les effets personnels et domestiques suivants :

Notez les exigences pour les cas particuliers suivants

Sous-section Mesure à prendre
Bijoux

Décrivez chaque bijou qui se trouve sur la liste de biens que vous prévoyez apporter au Canada. Comme il est difficile de décrire des bijoux avec précision, il est préférable d'utiliser la terminologie de votre police d'assurance ou de l'évaluation d'un bijoutier et de joindre des photos qui ont été signées et datées par le bijoutier ou un gemmologiste. Cette information facilitera l'identification des bijoux à votre première entrée au pays, puis plus tard, lorsque vous reviendrez d'un voyage à l'étranger avec ces mêmes bijoux.

Biens assujettis aux droits et aux taxes normalement exigibles

Une maison, une grande remorque que vous utilisez comme résidence et tout article que vous utilisez ou utiliserez à des fins commerciales ne sont pas admissibles en tant qu'effets personnels ou effets domestiques. Ces biens sont assujettis aux droits et aux taxes normalement exigibles.

Valeur maximale permise (10 000 $ CA) *s'applique aux anciens résidents seulement

Tous vos effets personnels ou domestiques (y compris les automobiles) que vous avez acquis après le 31 mars 1977 et qui ont une valeur de plus de 10 000 $ CA à la date d'importation sont assujettis aux droits et aux taxes exigibles sur le montant excédant 10 000 $ CA.

Exemption personnelle supplémentaire

Vous avez droit à une exemption personnelle maximale de droits et de taxes de 800 $ CA sur les biens que vous avez acquis à l'étranger ou en transit. Il n'est toutefois pas nécessaire que ces biens vous aient appartenu, que vous les ayez eus en votre possession et que vous les ayez utilisés à l'étranger avant de revenir vivre au Canada. Pour plus de renseignements sur cette exemption personnelle, consultez Je déclare.

Cadeaux de mariage

Si vous vous êtes marié dans les trois mois qui ont précédé votre arrivée au Canada ou si vous prévoyez le faire au plus tard dans les trois mois qui suivront votre arrivée au pays, vous pouvez importer vos cadeaux de mariage en franchise de droits et de taxes. Vous devez toutefois en avoir été le propriétaire et les avoir eus en votre possession avant votre arrivée, mais il n'est pas nécessaire que vous les ayez utilisés. Ces conditions s'appliquent également aux effets domestiques qui font partie du trousseau de la mariée.

Boissons alcoolisées

Consultez la section Boissons alcoolisées de Je déclare.

Produits du tabac

Consultez la section Produits du tabac de Je déclare.

Restrictions sur les espèces *s'appliquent seulement aux personnes qui établissent une résidence au Canada pour la première fois, non aux anciens résidents

 

Certains pays imposent des restrictions sur les exportations monétaires. Vérifiez auprès de votre banque, de votre avocat ou de votre conseiller financier si le pays d'où vous émigrez limite l'exportation d'espèces au Canada. Si c'est le cas, vous pourriez être admissible à une disposition spéciale vous permettant d'importer certains biens en franchise de droit.

Pour importer les biens en franchise de droit, vous devez prouver à l'ASFC au moment de l'importation que le pays d'où vous avez émigré applique effectivement des restrictions sur les virements de capitaux et qu'en raison de ces restrictions, les espèces ne pouvaient être exportées au moment de l'émigration.

Si vous immigrez au Canada en provenance d'un pays appliquant des restrictions sur les espèces, vous pouvez avoir jusqu'à trois ans pour importer les marchandises achetées avec des fonds bloqués en dépôt dans votre ancien pays de résidence. Les exigences sur la propriété, la possession et l'utilisation ne s'appliquent pas à ces marchandises.

Pour en savoir plus, consultez Mémorandum D2-2-2, Effets d'immigrants acquis au moyen de fonds bloqués.

Exigences touchant la propriété, la possession et l'utilisation des biens

Pour importer des biens exonérés de droits et de taxes, les immigrants doivent en avoir été les propriétaires, les avoir eus en leur possession et les avoir utilisés à l'étranger avant leur arrivée au Canada.

Les anciens résidents doivent en avoir été les propriétaires, les avoir eus en leur possession et les avoir utilisés à l'étranger au moins six mois avant de revenir vivre au Canada. Si vous êtes un ancien résident du Canada qui a résidé à l'étranger pendant cinq ans ou plus, la règle des six mois ne s'applique pas.

Les factures et les documents d'enregistrement de ces articles peuvent vous aider à prouver que vous respectez ces exigences. Les biens loués sont assujettis aux droits et aux taxes habituels, car l'ASFC ne considère pas que ces biens vous appartiennent.

Notez que même si vos biens respectent les trois exigences touchant la propriété, la possession et l'utilisation, ils doivent aussi satisfaire aux exigences des autres ministères. Pour plus de renseignements sur les autres restrictions et les exigences touchant l'importation de biens au Canada, consultez la section Restrictions.

Déclaration de vos biens à l'arrivée au Canada

Même si vous  n'avez aucun bien avec vous à votre arrivée, vous devez présenter la liste de vos biens à l'agent des services frontaliers à votre premier point d'entrée au Canada. L'agent remplira pour vous un Formulaire BSF186, Document de déclaration en détail des effets personnels, en fonction de la liste de biens que vous présenterez, y inscrira un numéro de dossier et vous remettra une copie du formulaire rempli à titre de reçu. Vous devrez présenter cette copie pour importer en franchise de droits et de taxes les biens non accompagnés lorsque ceux-ci arriveront au pays. Ces biens pourraient toutefois faire l'objet de restrictions avant que vous ne puissiez les importer.

Pour faciliter le processus de dédouanement, vous pouvez remplir le formulaire BSF186 avant votre arrivée au Canada.

Cession des biens

Si vous importez des biens au Canada en franchise de droits et de taxes, ou des biens dont la valeur a été réduite de 10 000 $ CA, et que vous vendez ou cédez ces biens dans les 12 mois suivant leur importation, vous devrez payer les droits et les taxes qui avaient été exemptés initialement. La même règle s'applique si vous décidez d'utiliser vos biens à des fins commerciales.

Restrictions

L'importation de certaines marchandises au Canada est restreinte ou interdite. En voici quelques exemples.

Santé publique

Si vous présentez, à votre arrivée ou à votre retour au Canada, des symptômes d'une maladie pouvant être contagieuse ou si vous avez été en contact avec quelqu'un qui a une maladie contagieuse, il est de votre devoir d'en informer un agent des services frontaliers ou un agent de quarantaine afin qu'il détermine si vous devez subir une évaluation plus poussée. Si vous avez été malade au cours de votre voyage ou si vous tombez malade après votre arrivée ou à votre retour au Canada, consultez un médecin canadien, lui dire que vous êtes allé à l'étranger, en précisant l'endroit, et l'informer de tout traitement médical reçu avant votre arrivée au Canada, s'il y a lieu (c'est-à-dire médication, transfusion sanguine, injections, soins dentaires ou chirurgie).

Pour en savoir plus

Pour des renseignements supplémentaires, contactez le Service d'information sur la frontière.

Date de modification :